We've updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

0 = 12

by Ensemble 0

  • Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      €7 EUR  or more


  • Compact Disc (CD) + Digital Album

    Includes unlimited streaming of 0 = 12 via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    ships out within 5 days

      €14 EUR or more 


  • Full Digital Discography

    Get all 19 Wild Silence (Label) releases available on Bandcamp and save 50%.

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality downloads of Ô la lune, A la Tonalité préférable du ciel, 0 = 12, Lucky Names, Settlement, MAMI WATA, Powerdove live, 15 Dickinson Songs, and 11 more. , and , .

    Purchasable with gift card

      €54.75 EUR or more (50% OFF)


Janvier 02:14
#68 08:43
Mai 02:53
Lantern 06:14
Sekar gadung 05:40
Août 03:07
Mossgrove 04:26
Decembre 01:54


The 0 ensemble is a cast of musicians rotating according to each project and spread around Western Europe. The full-time members are Stéphane Garin (percussion), Joël Merah (guitar) and Sylvain Chauveau (guitar, percussion), respectively based in Spain, France and Belgium.
The band’s work is divided in two: interpretation of contemporary repertoire and creation of their own compositions.
In 2016, Ensemble 0 was 12. To celebrate this, the group decided to release a new track every month of the year on their Bandcamp page, gradually unveiling a display of 12 pieces in 12 months for their 12th anniversary. Those recordings representing the different aspects of 0’s music are now compiled for the first time for the Wild Silence label under the title 0 = 12.
On the interpretation side, the tracklisting features revisited versions of pieces by Rachel Grimes, the band Clogs, Lou Harrison, traditional gamelan classic Sekar Gadung, and english folk song I Will Give My Love An Apple adapted for acoustic guitar.
But there are also 0’s compositions: Monochrome Gold pays tribute to Yves Klein, For The Black Monk evokes Ad Reinhardt’s late black paintings, #68 is a list of verbal instructions that allow a real freedom to the guitarist (here: Cyril Secq from the band Astrïd).
The last category shows proteiform tracks blurring the limits between composer, partner and producer : four short pieces for koto composed for the 0 ensemble by japanese musician Marihiko Hara, recorded in Kyoto and later remixed by Machinefabriek, Rainier Lericolais and by 0.



L’ensemble 0 est une formation à géométrie variable dont les membres vont et viennent en fonction des projets et sont disséminés en Europe de l’Ouest. Les membres permanents sont Stéphane Garin (percussions), Joël Merah (guitare) et Sylvain Chauveau (guitare, percussions), respectivement basés en Espagne, France et Belgique.
Le travail du groupe se divise en deux branches : interprétation de répertoire d’aujourd’hui et création de ses propres compositions.
En 2016 l’ensemble 0 a fêté ses douze ans d’existence. Pour célébrer l’événement, le groupe a publié chaque mois de cette année-là un morceau inédit sur sa page Bandcamp, rendant ainsi publics 12 morceaux en 12 mois pour fêter ses 12 ans. Ces pièces représentant les différents aspects de la musique de 0 sont aujourd’hui compilées pour la première fois grâce au label Wild Silence sous le titre 0 = 12.
L’interprétation de compositeurs étant l’une des activités principales de l’ensemble 0, le tracklisting comprend des versions revisitées de pièces de Rachel Grimes, du groupe Clogs, de Lou Harrison, le traditionnel pour gamelan Sekar Gadung, et le folklorique anglais I Will Give My Love An Apple adapté à la guitare solo.
On y trouve aussi des compositions originales de 0 : Monochrome Gold s’inspirant d’Yves Klein, For The Black Monk évoquant les toiles noires du peintre Ad Reinhardt, #68 et sa liste d’instructions verbales laissant une liberté certaine au guitariste qui l’interprète (ici Cyril Secq du groupe Astrïd).
Il y a enfin ces courtes pièces protéiformes où les frontières se brouillent entre compositeur, commanditaire et producteur : quatre pièces pour koto composées pour l’ensemble 0 par le musicien japonais Marihiko Hara, enregistrées à Kyoto puis remixées par Machinefabriek, Rainier Lericolais et par 0.



released November 9, 2017


all rights reserved



Wild Silence (Label) France

contact / help

Contact Wild Silence (Label)

Streaming and
Download help

Redeem code

Report this album or account

Wild Silence (Label) recommends:

If you like 0 = 12, you may also like: